Prof. Deji Akinwande at the White House to receive the U.S.  PRESIDENTIAL (PECASE) AWARD by President Obama.


President Barack Obama greets Dr. Deji Akinwande, a recipient of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) in the East Room of the White House, May 5, 2016. (Official White House Photo by Pete Souza)


White House Press Release

University of Texas Press Release


2017 update: Our Silicene work is top-ranked article in Nature Nanotechnology since 2015. Congrats Li Tao and main collaborators (Alessandro Molle’s group).

Moreover, the Silicene device breakthrough was selected among the Top 100 Science stories by Discover.



Welcome to Prof. Akinwande’s nano research group’s online portal. We are conducting basic and applied research at the frontier of nanomaterials, flexible nanoelectronics, bioelectronics, RF integrated circuits, and electromagnetics. Our passion lies in the discovery, understanding, and application of new paradigms to enable novel ubiquitous systems that can address societal needs.

We are looking for bright, motivated students and scholars to join the group. A strong work ethic and an abundance of passion is essential for our research activities. Please click here for more information.

Prof. Deji Akinwande

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Education Director, NASCENT NSF NERC Center
Microelectronics Research Center
Texas Materials Institute
The University of Texas at Austin


Deji received a Ph.D in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University in December 2009. Previously, he graduated with a B.S/M.S. combined degree in Electrical Engineering and Applied Physics from Case Western Reserve University. His Ph.D thesis focused on the physics, chemistry, materials and electronic properties of carbon materials. He gained industry experience designing and testing analog circuits from MHz to 110 GHz for network analyzer and signal generator instruments at Agilent Technologies in California. He subsequently worked at XtremeSpectrum, Freescale and Motorola on the modeling, design and testing of the first commercial 100 Mb/s ultra-wideband receiver chip.

He is a member of IEEE, APS, ACS, and MRS societies.

Honors and Awards

  • APS Fellow, 2017
  • Bessel Research Award, Humboldt Foundation, 2017
  • Visiting Professor and Pembroke Fellow, University of Cambridge, 2016
  • Inaugural Gordon and Betty Moore Inventor Fellow Award, 2016
  • U.S. Presidential (PECASE) Award from President Obama
  • Editor, IEEE Electron Device Letters
  • Editor, Nature NPJ 2D Materials and Applications
  • IEEE Nanotechnology Early Career Award, 2015
  • UT System Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award Finalist, 2015, 2016
  • TI/Jack Kilby Endowed Faculty Fellowship, 2013-present
  • IEEE Senior Member, 2013
  • IEEE NANO Geim and Novoselov (Inaugural) Graphene Prize 2012
  • NSF Faculty CAREER Award 2012
  • DTRA Young Investigator Award 2012
  • 3M Nontenured Faculty Award 2012
  • Army Research Office Young Investigator Award 2011
  • Office of Naval Research Grant Award 2010
  • Stanford Future-Faculty DARE Fellow, 2008-2010 (12 fellows selected out of 110 senior Ph.D Candidates from all the Schools at Stanford University)
  • Ford Foundation Fellow, 2006-2009 (60 fellows out of over 1000 applicants)
  • Alfred P. Sloan Scholar, 2006-2008 (Selected Stanford Ph.D Candidate)
  • Stanford EE314 Course (RF Integrated Circuit Design): “Design Award” for outstanding Low-Noise Amplifier Designs by Prof. Thomas Lee (1 of 3 out of a class of ~150 students)



MER 1.206L, R9900
10100 Burnet Rd. Bldg 160, Austin, TX 78758
deji AT ece.utexas.edu