Prof. Akinwande honored with the IEEE Nano “Geim and Novoselov Prize”

Dr. Akinwande wins the inaugural Geim and Novoselov Prize.


UT ECE professor Deji Akinwande has been
awarded the first Geim and Novoselov Graphene Prize during the gala dinner at the IEEE nano conference in Birmingham, UK. The award recognizes Deji’s work on ” flexible multifinger graphene device technology” and in particular his pioneering effort on graphene transistors for high speed high frequency flexible nano electronics. Graphene transistors on flexible substrates could enable future flexible smart systems. The prize is named in honor of the 2010 Nobel laureates for graphene discovery.

Dr. Deji Akinwande is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin. Professor Akinwande joined UT Austin starting from January 2010, and he is a member of IEEE, APS, ACS, and MRS societies.

(from ECE department news brief)